CO2 Tank to Regulator Extension?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YeastFarmer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I recently bought a second hand dual tap kegerator. I have a 5lb tank (with regulator attached) which easily fits inside the kegerator with the two 5 gallon corny kegs. I just found a fantastic deal on a 20lb CO2 tank. Obviously this tank won't fit in the kegerator. Now, there is a hole in the back where you could feed a hose through. However, this hole isn't big enough for both gas hoses (1 for each keg).

How does this setup usually work? Is there a way to attach a hose to the tank, feed it inside the kegerator, and then attach to the regulator inside the kegerator? I'm sure there is, but I don't know what I need. I'm very new to brewing and I'm learning as I go. Also, this would be my first kegging. Any help or even better, product links would be greatly appreciated.

It would have to be a special hose rated for high pressure. You could install the bottle with regulator attached on the outside and run a single hose through the hole to a manifold inside.

Like this—
42D12A69-1713-49C5-A32A-98288619795E.jpeg

More expensive than @camonick 's excellent manifold idea: primary regulator outside, two-body secondary regulator mounted inside the kegerator, allowing different pressures for the two kegs. My four body secondary is mounted inside my kegerator door.

Note that the high pressure hose still only gets you one pressure - unless that regulator gets replaced by a dual body type, and then you have to find a way to secure same without benefit of a bottle.