Cloudy after pasteurization - why?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pharquart

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have been making meads and ciders for about 3 years now, and am getting much better with practice. I generally like sweeter (1.010 to 1.020ish) stuff. The original technique was to start with enough honey to reach the yeast's alcohol tolerance so I could back sweeten to the desired level without having to worry about refermentation and bottle bombs. But depending on the yeast, that gets you into the 15% ABV range. I'd prefer something lower both for drinkability (like a session mead at about 8% ABV) and less chance of fusel/hot flavors that take a year to mellow out. I tried bread yeast which has a lower alcohol tolerance, but its flocculation stinks--too hard to avoid all the wispies. Or if I'm making a hard apple cider at 5-7% ABV, you can't find a weak enough yeast. I want a sweet cider or a sweet session mead, so I need to stabilize somehow.

So I started to use chemicals to stabilize the brews. Ferment to dry at desired final ABV, let sit a couple more weeks to clear, rack off the lees, add potassium sorbate (1/2 tsp per gallon) and potassium metabisulfite (about 1/16 tsp per gallon), wait 24 hours, back sweeten, bottle. (I have a keg system, so if I want carbonation I force carbonate and don't need active yeast for bottle carbonation.) Then I had a few batches restart fermentation even after the chemical stabilization. One restarted about 4 months after bottling. I happened to notice one bottle fizz when I opened it and rescued 4 more bottles before they could explode! I have no idea why the chemical stabilization failed.