Cheap Sanke Keg fermenter Conversion kit (Completed!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
So today I managed to get my hands on a spare Sanke Keg and would really like to put this fermenter together. I love the whole concept and idea, thanks for sharing.

With that said, can you update with everything actually attached? I'm trying to bend my head around how you seal off the racking cane and how the spunding valve attaches (as well as how you hook up any extra needed CO2 to push out the beer).

Be patient, I'm new to fabricating.

Kind of resurrecting an older thread but wondering about how to inspect my new (used) keg. Most telescoping mirrors are 2" which don't fit and the smaller ones seem to be hard to see much with. I was wondering how people solve this? Which mirror are you using? Anyone try something like a flexible camera (borescope) for $50 - or something similar for cheaper?: http://www.amazon.com/Vividia-Flexible-Inspection-Borescope-Endoscope/dp/B004WY9F7E

Last edited by a moderator:
Soak the keg with pbw and then starsan, as long as the liquid runs pretty clear, you know you don't have rust and now it's actually clean and holding water.

Thinking about making one of these with an extra 15 gallon sanke keg I have however there would be a ton of head space when fermenting a 5 gallon batch. Is that something I should worry about in a primary?