Cane Sugar Substitute?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pshankstar

BIAB Homebrewer & Coffee Roaster
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I went to my LHBS yesterday to buy the ingredients to make the New Belgium Ranger IPA clone found in a BYO Magazine. Recipe pasted below.

Well the LHBS didn't have "Corn Sugar" in stock, instead they had "Candi" and "Cane" sugar. The girl there said I could probably use the "Cane Sugar" instead or regular table sugar. So I held off on buying any sugar and thought I would check here, since I'm still a newbie... So with that being said, is she right? Is one better to use than the other (Cane Sugar vs Table Sugar)? Should I stick with the "Corn Sugar" as the recipe calls for? Any thoughts, suggestions and input is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

PS - I tried searching the forum to see if this question or similar was posted in the past and I could not locate one. If its a repeat I'm sorry and please provide a link to the thread. Thanks!

New Belgium Ranger IPA Clone (BYO Magazine)

Batch Details:
5 gallons/19 L, Extract with grains
OG = 1.059 FG = 1.009 IBU = 70 SRM = 7 ABV = 6.5%

Ingredients:
4.5 lbs. (2 kg) Briess light dried malt extract
1 lb. (0.45 kg) cane sugar (15 min.)
1 lb. 13 oz. (0.82 kg) pale malt
4 oz. (113 g) crystal malt (120 L)
12 AAU Chinook hops (60 min.) (1 oz./28 g at 12% alpha acids)
6.5 AAU Simcoe hops (30 min.) (0.5 oz/14 g at 13% alpha acids)
3.8 AAU Cascade hops (15 min.) (0.75 oz./21 g at 5% alpha acids)
0.5 oz. (14g) Chinook hops (0 min.)
0.5 oz. (14g) Simcoe hops (0 min.)
1 oz. (28g) Cascade hops (0 min.)
2.5 oz. (71g) Cascade hops (dry hop)
Wyeast 1792 (Fat Tire Ale), Wyeast 1272 (American Ale II), or White Labs WLP051 (California Ale V) yeast
3/4 cup corn sugar (if priming)