Building a starter for Dogfish Head 120 min clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dlutter

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm planning to brew the Dogfish Head 120 min IPA clone from the Homebrew Chef website on April 18th. 3 gallon batch

http://www.homebrewchef.com/120minuteIPArecipe.html

I have been brewing all grain for the last 4 yrs and have about 50 batches under my belt but this is my first big beer brew. I usually brew pale ales and IPAs that start in the 1.050-1.060 range and only in the last year or so have been using yeast starters.

I have the yeast cake of 1056 sitting in secondary right now from 3 gal batches of a Mirror Pond clone and an IPA of my own creation. This yeast was fresh back in October from a 3 gal batch of the same Mirror Pond clone. I washed it and it sat in the back of my fridge until 3 weeks ago when I revived it. For the 120 clone I'm planning on a starter with either light or amber DME first at 1.070 and move then to one about 1.100 prior to pitching.

Here are my questions:
1. Should I use this yeast, get a fresh pack of 1056, or both? If I reuse the yeast I would need to wash and store it again for a few weeks.

2. Is it a good idea to use two starters of increasing gravity or should I start at 1.050 and do three steps?

3. Does it matter which DME I use?

4. How long before brew day should I start the starter? One week enough or should I do longer?

5. I've seen some threads and recipes mention White Labs super high gravity yeast. Would this be a good investment and how should I incorporate this into the recipe/fermentation?

Thanks