Better to over or underpitch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rt4philly

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,
I was brewing the other day and now that I wash my own yeast I don't have a clear idea of how much yeast I am pitching exactly. Which got me wondering is it better (or worse), if you had to choose, to under or over pitch your yeast. Thoughts?

If forced to pick, I'd rather over pitch. You can figure out how much slurry to use by using mrmalty.com. That way you'll pitch the right amount and not have to answer your own hypothetical question!

While I am no expert, I have read that it is a lot harder to overpitch versus underpitch. Underpitching even a little can sometimes result in off flavors due to stressed yeast. If you are harvesting your yeast, you usually can collect enough for two brews depending on style/gravity in my experience. If you are repitching the whole thing, there is a chance that is too much.

You can measure the amount of yeast if you harvest and store in mason jars. They often have a ML reading on the jars. Once the yeast is stored in the fridge for a night or so and drops out, it is easy to see how much you have. With this approach and using Mr. malty, you can be sure to pitch close to the expected range. At least that is what I do and have not hd any problems. I am sure others on here can give you more precise feedback.

Hmm hadn't heard of that site, good to know. I usually pitch the same amount of slurry and don't have any problems. But I always wonder how healthy the slurry is. And if it's not as healthy, should I be adding more? And then, how do I know it's healthy or unhealthy. That's the thought that keeps me awake at night (at least for the first 12 hours after pitching)