Best way to turn people on to Local Craft Beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewkowski

Reaction score
So I work in the hotel industry at an airport hotel and I'm the lucky guy who gets to run the food and beverage department and I'm looking to bring on a decent assortment of the local Chicago/burb beer. It's not a super happening night spot so I can't go crazy, and lets face it every weekend my reports are still telling me that BMC rules, although Stella is right behind the light beers.

I'm thinking of a line up of mostly gateway styles with some nice beers that would work for any beer geek. For any of those in the area, I'm looking to carry Finch's, Lake Bluff, Wild Onion, Metropolitan, Revolution, Lagunitas (welcome to Chi-town!), and Penrose. Mostly looking at carrying lighter styles (Golden Ale, Wit, and Belgian inspired beers that Blue Moon fans might be able to swing to, with a couple of IPA's and Red Ales).

So, challenge one, most of my bartenders have no idea about beer and challenge two what's the best way to steer out of towners into trying Local Craft beer? One of the real kickers is that there is no draft beers, so I don't even have the option of offering samples to guests to see if they'll go for it. So when someone comes up and asks for a Blue Moon and we upsell them to a Bottoms Up Wit, if they don't like it enough, I lose out big time.