Berries in the boil

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tkelly32

Reaction score
So I have a bunch of berries I dried out last year and some that are fresh this year on the vine. I have a bunch of stray grains with the mains being wheat and two row so I can make a decent beer coulped with this German Wheat yeast. I have never done fruit before however and am wondering if I throw these dry berries and/or fresh berries in the boil will the beer incorporate the fruit flavor? WHat is the best way of going about introducing the dry/fresh berries into the brew? thanks

What kind of berries? I would not add them to the boil. Fermentation will scrub out flavors and araoma of your berries. I have always added fruit to a secondary fermenting vessel and racked the fermented beer on the fruit. How many lbs do you have? I have had good success with 1-2 lbs per gallon of beer.

I've only brewed with fruit once for a summer party we were having so take my advice with caution. It was a summer ale with two row, pilsner malt and I added strawberries at the last five minutes of boil in two hop bags. The flavor was extracted minimally but was subtle enough to not be overpowering and by adding at the boil , all naturally occurring bad yeastbeasts were eliminated. I added the bags to primary but not to secondary. Final product was cloudier than I expected maybe due to pectin....not really sure. I like the idea of adding to secondary but I'm not sure how to avoid infections and the like. Hopefully HopJuicer can give us more details.