Belgian Biscuit Malt in a Trappist Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Groovy_Tunes

Reaction score
Hey there fellow brewers,

I'm somewhat new to all grain brewing (I've done about 10 batches so far). That being said, I have something of a vision of what I want to brew and have researched extensively to achieve it. What I'd like to do is develop recipes for a Trappist Dubbel and abt/quad. My favorite beers in this category would be St. Bernardus and Rochefort (I've been using the abt 12 and the 10 respectively as my model beers). I've brewed two iterations of a dubbel largely inspired by clone recipes of the Rochefort 10. I'm not really concerned with making an accurate clone, just something that tastes like what I want. Anyway, one of the most pleasant flavors that I get in the Rochefort 10 that I find much less distinct in other Trappist ales is what I would call a bread crust flavor. It mates perfectly with the toffee crystal-malt flavors in the beer. Unfortunately, my first dubbel which I have on tap now is lacking this delightful bread crust highlight (I'll post the recipe I used in a sec).

My brewing buddy and I happen to have a bunch of relatively small OG beers in primary and secondary right now, so we figured it would be a good time to brew some big beers that we could condition while we are consuming these smaller projects which will be ready soon. The time has come to try a quad/BDSA; however, if I'm going to be waiting six months to try it, I want to get the bread crust flavors as best as I can. From what I've read, I get the impression that a significant quantity of Biscuit malt with maybe 2 or 3 oz of carafa III (5g batch) will contribute a bread crust flavor. Here's where my doubts with this come in: