Beginner going to BIAB from Extract

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jcarey88

Reaction score
Hi all! I believe this is my first post on the forums. So a little background about me. I started cooking when I was about 7 years old, and I went to culinary school. After which I worked in the industry for a few years and decided to pursue other things. So I know my way around the kitchen, and sanitation, and mass production of consumable goods, blah blah blah.

I have wanted to brew beer for a loooong time. I didn't have the room in my old house(rental) for any of the equipment. I know people brew in small NY apartments and make due with what they have(props and respect), but I seriously had nowhere to store my fermenting beer(s).

Fast forward until 7 days ago. I did an all grain brew session with my friend from work. My brewing set was shipped and on the way, and it was his first all grain, doing a mash in an igloo water cooler. When I got home, my equipment was on the doorstep, and we happened to have a snow day the day after. What better to do than brew a beer!?

So I brewed my Northern Brewer Caribou Slobber extract w/ specialty malts and pitched the yeast. It's now sitting in a closet and will remain there for at least another 3 weeks. I juggled the idea of racking to a secondary. I thought about the time I could save from just buying a kegging system now, rather than bottle conditioning. I already have the mini fridge from my college days, might as well.