Beer does strange things after bottling.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanMurphy

Reaction score
I'm kind of new to home brewing and still am trying to work out some kinks. I've gotten 5 batches over with but I have noticed something that happens with almost every batch. When I started making my own beer I got a supply of Grolsch-style pint bottles for bottling. Ever since my first batch, and in virtually every one since then, I have a troubling number of bottles that develop a foamy head within a day of bottling, and those bottles almost always end up being flat when I open then after a couple weeks. The bottles that don't get that foamy head are usually properly carbonated and give a noticeable "pop" when flipping the lid. The foamy bottles almost always have a distinct "ring" after the foamy head goes down after a few days, and are flat when opening and pouring. The first time it happened I chalked it up to being new, but by now it had become a predictable and annoying problem, even with different recipes. I have become very careful to wash and sanitize the bottles, rubber seals, flip tops and all my equipment. I just can't shake that flat beer gremlin. what is going on here? I have included a picture of a typical bottle that has that telltale ring in the neck that tells me ahead of time that bottle is dead. Am I the only one with this?https://www.homebrewtalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=327702&stc=1&d=1451960332

IMG_3604.JPG

Early on in my home brewing hobby I experienced the similar. Thought I was pretty good at cleaning but still ended up with funk in some bottles. Here is what I changed to get rid of the funk: