Any way to ease hoppy flavor in fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seamus18

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm kind of new to this. Done a few batches, extract to start. I did my first partial about 10 days ago. It was a Blue Moon clone that I learned from this sight. Anyway, it's been in primary for about 10 days and fermentation has been done for a number of days but I am going to leave for 3 weeks. When I taste the beer, it seems to have a very bitter taste still, which should not be for this type of beer, which I'm told. I only added 1 type of hops at full 60' boil - hallertau 4.8% - 1.5 oz. I was told the flavor would pretty much disappear, but it seems all i am tasting. At least that's what I think I am tasting. Will this go away or is there something i can add that will reduce this taste? Or is it too late.

Sorry for the long post, just hoping there something I can do.

Thanks

Carbonation will help mask the bitterness and some will fade with the extra priming sugar for bottling. It may just taste like a young beer. All flavors will meld over time. 10 days is still really green.

Best advice is not to worry about it until there's something to worry about.

My hydro samples for Wayne1's blue moon clone from here do not taste hoppy-bitter to me at 10 days. But yes hops will meld/fade over time for all the reasons stated above.

Did you do Full/ partial boil? Late extract addition, or what?
I ask bc 1.5 oz @ 60 min for 4.8AA is 30 ibu (full boil of 6.5 gallons), and the recipe calls for 17ibu. I have made it 5 times but all AG.