AG Extract Potential Calculator

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryat66

Reaction score
I have relied on BeerSmith since I started brewing but recently decided to sit down and understand the math behind recipes. With some help from Google and How to Brew, I think I have a decent grasp on things. So, I decided to create an Excel spreadsheet and build the formulas myself to better grasp how variables affect the entire brewing process. This isn't meant to replace my BeerSmith but rather to understand what's going on behind the scenes.

I have provided a link to the file on OneDrive and was wondering if someone would kindly take a look at it to verify my formulas. The green cells require user input, everything else is formula driven output. Thank you in advance.

https://1drv.ms/x/s!AmNqNFPb0OdxqnXhdLhUlwfTaacl

First, you've got the ppg concept down - that's good!

A couple of things stand out:

The conversion efficiency must be calculated against the TOTAL water you use in the very beginning; that is, the mash and sparge water combined. It's not the "batch size" - which really is the amount that hits your fermenter in the end. I realize there is some information online that seems to contradict this.

Maximum Potential:
Total Gravity Points/Total Vol
expressed as the points after the SG decimal; i.e. 61 for 1.061

Conversion Efficiency:
Pre-Boil SG/Maximum Potential SG
Or, Pre-Boil SG = Maximum Potential SG * Conversion Efficiency
Again, use only the points after the decimal as a whole number

The mash efficiency has a simple formula once you know conversion efficiency. Just factor in the volume losses:

Mash Efficiency:
Pre-Boil Vol/Total Vol * Conversion Efficiency