Advice on a small AG rig

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FrozenWinter

Reaction score
I've been brewing 5 gallon AG batches for about 6 months now and I have gotten away from kit beers in favor of my own recipes.
The problem I've run into with this is that if my recipe is god awful I still have 5 gallons of it.

I'd like to set up a system for doing 1 to 2 gallon AG batches so i can test some of my recipe ideas before taking it to my 5 gallon rig. Would I be better off setting up a small HLT and MT or at that scale would it be simpler to just do BIAB?

I plan on doing BIAB on the stovetop for 1-2 g batches. BIAB seems to be about the perfect solution for the 1-2g AG brewer.

Stovetop BIAB, place pot in a warm oven for the mash rest.

I have done a few 2.5G BIAB batches and this is the method I used. I couldn't believe how well this worked for maintaining a precise temperature. I'd preheat the oven to 5F over my mash temp and turn off the oven before inserting the pot. Every 15min I'd stir the mash and briefly turn on the oven to get it back to the mash temp or just above and shut it off as soon as the desired temp was reached. Are you using beersmith, brewtarget or similar programs when you design your recipes?

BIAB, unless you just really want to play with a little MLT. If you do, I have a 2 gallon one I'd consider selling.

With a little planning you can optimize a MLT for 2-3 gallon batches, but still have it work with 5G batches. BIAB is nice, and that's what I've been doing. Ask yourself how often you'll be brewing experimental batches, and how often you'll want to brew larger volumes of house standards or for a party.