acetone aroma, crazy gushing.. whats up?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bergman1118

Reaction score
So I just cracked into one of the few remaining bottles of a brown ale I made about 2 months ago, and like many of the other bottles in the batch, this one gushed like crazy as soon as I opened it. I wasn't really surprised by this, cause as I said, about a dozen or more out of this batch were gushers... what surprised me was that when i poured the remaining beer into a glass, I was smacked in the face by a pungent acetone-like smell. Being a chemist, I'm pretty familiar with this smell, and it was definitely a solventy, strong, unpleasant odor.. most reminscient of acetone. I took a sip of my brew, and although it wasn't undrinkable, it didn't taste all that great, especially compared to the bottles I tried at 4 weeks into bottle conditioning. So I'm just wondering... is the acetone-smell/taste caused by high fermentation temps? Or is it just fluctuations in ferm. temps? I don't have very good temp. control at the moment, so I have pretty much assumed this is the case.. but is there a correlation between the acetone smell and the abundance of gushers? I doubt that this was caused by an infection, because the beer didn't have any noticable growth on it.. but who knows..

so gushers + acetone smell = ..high/fluctuating ferm temps? ..overpitched yeast? ..inconsistent priming?

an acetone flavor/smell can come from fermenting at too high of a temperature, but it would have to be really high.

As for the gushers, that would point to either an infection or too much priming sugar. Is the acetone flavor only coming from the beers that are gushing or is the flavor pretty consistent across the whole batch?