7 days of hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pkrath84

Reaction score
Until this point I've brewed only extract beers using both LME and DME and also specialty grains. I started brewing in March and I'm currently about 15 batches in. I've recently gotten the itch to try out some all grain but I've also been wanting to experiment more with hops to hone in on my ingredients. I'd like to be able to try some SMaSH batches, keeping the grain bill the same and changing only the hops.

Since I learn best by doing and repetition, I decided not to go with a split 5 gallon batch. Instead, I'll brew a 1 gallon batch every day, for 7 days (I'm not too worried about the week difference in aging). The result will be 7 different beers with the same grain bill, varying only in hops. I'm clumsy as hell, so this should be interesting.

Right now I'm looking at a pale ale with SG 1.045 and about 40 IBUs.

This experiment will begin on Monday the 19th when I get back from out of town.

What I'm looking for help with is advice on what hops to include in my experiment. Right now I know I want to play with the 3 C's and Bravo, because I have them. Thinking about Simcoe as well. Any suggestions?

Here's the recipe I came up with in BeerSmith

Ingredients
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
1 lbs 12.0 oz Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 1 100.0 %
0.10 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 2 18.5 IBUs
0.18 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 15.0 min Hop 3 16.6 IBUs
0.20 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 4 7.4 IBUs

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.048 SG Measured Original Gravity: 1.048 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.012 SG Measured Final Gravity: 1.010 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 4.6 % Actual Alcohol by Vol: 5.0 %
Bitterness: 42.5 IBUs Calories: 158.4 kcal/12oz
Est Color: 4.0 SRM