Help me retire my beginner status

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whovous

Waterloo Sunset
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing off and on for a couple of years. I'd like to think I've learned quite a bit, but as I start planning my next batch I have so many questions I've just gotta put them here.

I brew eBiab in a 24L kettle. Recirculating mash, no sparge. I brew mostly IPAs and APAs. Next up is a NE IPA based on Braufessor's recipe. Citra, Mosaic and either Galaxy or Simcoe.

Here are my questions:
1. Grain conditioning - I've been doing this about 15 minutes before brewing and then letting the grain sit in a large bowl until I mill it. Would I do better to condition it 20-24 hours in advance instead and put it in a plastic bag until it is time to mill? How far ahead is too far ahead?

2. Water - I build from PO water. I am going to follow advice from an AHA seminar in Baltimore and bring the water to a very brief boil prior to bringing it back to 160F or so and mashing in. The idea is to reduce the oxygen level of the water and thereby reduce oxidation in the early brewing phases. Question - Should I add my "salts" and then boil, or boil and add the salts? Assuming it does not really matter, I am inclined to add the salts first on the idea that they are mostly more soluble at lower temps.

3. pH measurement - Since learning about the importance of pH, I have mostly relied on BeerSmith to prescribe my lactic additions and trust everything to come out OK. This time, I plan to calibrate my measuring device and figure out how to use it. My goal is a pH in the 5.30 to 5.45 range. When and how often should I measure?