Concial fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bswan0508

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi everyone!!! I am new to the forum but have been lurking around as a non member for a while now. I am new to homebrewing i have my second batch in lager now. But i am here to ask some oppinions. First let me tell you a bit about myself I am a fabricator/welder i do it for a living working for a fab shop. We specialize in stainless steel and aluminum welding and fabrication I do not want to toot my own horn here but i am the best stainless steel guy in my entire shop. And we are the go to shop in the entire state of michigan for stainless ans aluminum welding. I also have my own welding business on the side. I had a though the other day about building my own conical fermenter so i went about pricing the stainless materials to build one and turns out its alog cheaper if i order in bulk although i already knew that it got me thinking. I can order enough material to build 6 13 gallon conical fermenters thats from the bottom of the cone to the brim so i figured 1 or 2 gallon headspace and i could call it a 10 gallon fermenter. The cost for the materials would be about $48 a piece. I know most SS conicals are spun. These ones would be welded construction. I have the machinery and capability to produce sanitary welds throgh out the entire project. I figure once i add all the valves and things that go along with it i would have about $150 into each this way. And could sell them for significantly less Then what they sell for normally so my question is would it be wise for me to build these and sell them? As in do you think people would buy them considering they are welded and not spun? Any thought recommendations you guys have i am happy to listen to.