Fridge course adjustment screw

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

m1k3

Reaction score
Hi all- just built a 5 tap kegerator out of a new (to me) 1989 Whirlpool (ET18HK) fridge.

It seems to only get down to 47F at the coldest setting.

I just adjusted what I think is the course adjustment screw... It has a torx head... Turning a few clicks clockwise.

Does that seem correct?

In photo it is between the orange and red wires. View attachment ImageUploadedByHome Brew1456871821.005465.jpg

You might as well try it and see. Those cold controls generally don't get adjusted like you're trying, since you've already turned it one way it can't hurt anything to turn it the other way.

I'm an appliance tech with 17 years of experience, if the unit won't go below 47° you probably have some other problem. Most likely a sealed system problem, but it could be a failing cold control. If the sealed system is working it shouldn't have a problem getting to 34-36°. If you do get it to cool down by adjusting the control... I recommend replacing it. An STC-1000 makes a great control, much easier to set the exact temp you want.

An STC-1000 makes a great control, much easier to set the exact temp you want.

I already own 3 Johnson A419 controllers can that be used?
Would I bypass the internal controls and then externally control the fridge.

If I do that I guess I can't store my hops in the freezer section.

Bummer if the fridge is dieing... just finished installing the 5 tap install!

I think that is the thread that got me started looking for a screw to adjust.

The cup of water in the fridge is still 47.6F. So, the torx screw I turned seems to have no effect.