Pasteurizing With Sous Vide

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Earplugs

Reaction score
Every thread I’ve seen on stovetop pasteurizing bottles to kill yeast/stop bottle bombs has involved temperatures of 180-190 F. This seems to have come from cribbing the temperature scheme from milk or apple juice pasteurization, with a fudge factor for poor temperature control.

I work in the food processing industry, and have seen a lot of different methods for pasteurizing beverages (I don’t design them though, just help them run). The literature that is usually quoted for milk/apple juice is assuming flash pasteurization I think- raw product comes into a big heat exchanger, is heated up very quickly, and pasteurized product flows out the other side. This is great for people that have a very high degree of control over that process, and who are packaging said product in plastic, which isn’t suitable for pasteurizing in bottles.

However, home pasteurizing bottles more closely simulates batch or tunnel pasteurizing- this is what is most commonly done in the beer industry (and many others who are using glass or metal packages). Pasteurizing in bottles presents a new set of concerns: bottle cracking from temperature shocks, and exploding carbonated beverages. Both of these issues can be lessened by lowering the pasteurization temperature.