to all the beer geniuses on homebrewtalk

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kwilson07

Reaction score
Dear beer oracles,

i am getting the itch to make a new beer after a long sabbatical away from homebrewing. here is what i am thinking. (By the way, i am an extreme novice. So you are about to be asked some extremely dumb questions). i am going to make a two 2.5 gallon batches. One i will add lime juice (juice from 3-4 limes) and one i will add lemon juice (juice from 3-4 lemons) . Once fermentation is complete, i plan to do a 50/50 mix of cane sugar and kool-aid (limeade and lemonade) to enhance the fruit flavor (so i like fruity beers, big whoop, wanna fight about it. Sorry family guy reference).

1.) i only have a 5 gallon carboy and 5 gallon bucket, will the amount of head space be a problem for a 2.5 gallon batch?

2.) is the mix of cane sugar to kool-aid correct? Any concerns with using kool-aid?

3.) is American Wheat ale a good base beer for this? i will be using the extract kit from northern brewer.

thank you,
the extract novice

p.s. Sorry for the grammar.

The headspace is fine for primary.

I'd double think the kook-aid, and maybe be ready to dump it, I don't see that going well with artificial sweeteners and flavorings...

And someone with more experience will have to chime in on the lemon/lime juice, maybe using the zest and/or aging on the actual fruit would be better because of the high acidity of those fruits.

From experience, I have tasted an attempt at a Limeaide beer that used an American wheat as the base...it, was, well...fairly terrible.

I would also agree with d3track on the kool-aid factor. You could be dumping quite a bit of beer.