Lower gravity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

serrano07

Reaction score
I'm just getting into all grain brewing. And I'm wondering why my gravity is lower. How long should sparging take. The beer I brewed yesterday was suppose to have a gravity of 1.078. The gravity I got was 1.064. I know it's not a big deal it will just have less alcohol. But I just want to know why I'm getting such low gravity. Am I not sparging long enough or what. I think the sparging only took me about 30 mins. my Temps for mashing were pretty dead on. Maybe 1 or 2 degrees high but nothing to be concerned about I think. And help is appreciated

Well, I'm still pretty new to this, but that could be caused by a couple of things. First and foremost, your crush could be poor leading to poor efficiency. What's the recipe? Do you stir after adding the sparge water? Do you recirculate?

Assuming you have your process pretty well dialed in and know your efficiency, once your gravity gets up above 1070-ish it's typical to see a drop in mash efficiency. I usually get about 80% effiency for a standard brew but I lose about 4 points in efficiency for every 10 gravity points over 1065. I just account for it in my calculations or plan on adding some sugar to the boil to compensate.

The recipe is a stone ruination clone recipe. 14.6 pounds 2 row and 1 pound crystal 20L. Then 2.25 ounces magnum and 1.5 ounce centennal. It was a 90 minute boil. I do stir during the mash and the sparging. No I don't recirculate.

what efficiency did you use for calculating your recipe? If you assumed an 85% efficiency, but only get 78% in real life, that will account for the numbers being low. you'll have to adjust your assumed efficiency. there may not be an actual mash issue.