Pale ale recipe critique?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdopchibrew

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm brewing with 3 of my buddies this weekend, all of whom are just now getting into brewing, to show them my process and give them some tips. By the way, I'm by no means an expert, just the guy in our group that started brewing first!

Anyhow! I want to make a really drinkable, citrusy and deliciously hoppy pale ale, and I've always wanted to try an extreme late hop brew (like, 10 minutes left in the boil kind of hopping), so I figured now was the perfect time. Just wanted to get your thoughts on it:

Type: All Grain
Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Boil Size: 6.32 gal
Boil Time: 60 min
End of Boil Vol: 5.82 gal
Final Bottling Vol: 5.00 gal
Est Original Gravity: 1.053 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.012 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.4 %
Bitterness: 46.7 IBUs
Est Color: 7.8 SRM
Measured Original Gravity: 1.046 SG
Measured Final Gravity: 1.010 SG
Actual Alcohol by Vol: 4.7 %

9 lbs Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) 78.3 %
1 lbs Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) 8.7 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM) 8.7 %
8.0 oz Aromatic Malt (26.0 SRM) 4.3 %

0.10 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - First Wort 60.0 min 5.0 IBUs
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Boil 10.0 min 10.7 IBUs
0.50 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min 8.2 IBUs
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Boil 5.0 min 5.9 IBUs
1.00 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min 9.0 IBUs
1.40 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 2.0 min 5.4 IBUs
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Boil 2.0 min 2.5 IBUs
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Boil 0.0 min
1.00 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 0.0 min
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Dry Hop
1.00 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Dry Hop
1.00 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Dry Hop

Thanks for any future input!!! :mug: