All grain or extract for beginners

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SKELATOR51695

Reaction score
So I'm just starting out in the home brewing and I wanted to know what everyone thought about jumping right into brewing all grain as a beginner, or is it really more beneficial if I start out with extracts and work way up?

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

It really depends on how adventurous you are and what type of learning curve you are willing to take on to start. Many people have gotten started AG as well as extract or even partial mash.

Extract with steeping grains is the easiest way to get started IMHO and the learning curve is pretty shallow. Partial mash involves the combination of both mashing and extract so you get a feel for what it is to mash and AG has the biggest learning curve with the most variables that come into play.

I would highly recommend you read Palmer's How to Brew regardless of how you start, you can search the free, somewhat outdated online version of get the new version at your LHBS or online somewhere.

Thank you very much that is very helpful, I will definitely look up that book. The only reason why I am entertaining starting out all grain is I feel like I'm just cutting out so much with extracts, and I want the full experience.