Cleaning Checklist

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bondra76

Reaction score
I'm a new homebrewer, and I think I'm already addicted.

I'm about 48 hours away from cooking my first batch up, and I am getting a little nervous about the cleaning aspect of it. I have been trying to go somewhat light on the expenses for the first few months. I've had to use craigslist a bit for items and while I feel comfortable with them, I am also one of those people that believes clean kitchens equal clean and better food. As a homebrewer, I want to make sure that I have my items in the best shape possible.

Can anyone provide me a list of "must haves" for cleaning my equipment?

As a total noob and not knowing most of these things, I am hoping to break this out by equipment -

Steel Kettle - Can put in my dishwasher or clean with dish soap? (I have an Aluminum pot. I'm not worried at all about the gray/black colors. I use aluminum pots for other things and I like them)
Carboy - Carboy/Bottle Jet Cleaner, Dish Soap & C-Brite Sanitizer? Carboy Extended Brush
Fermenting Bucket - Dishwash Soap, C-Brite Sanitizer?
Sanke Type D Keg Tap - NO idea how to clean this?
Sanke Pony Kegs - C-Brite Sanitizer? What else?​

Thanks in advance for helping me!

Soap is a bad idea, it coats the surface of things and is very hard to get off. With glasses, it is a major cause of collapsing head. PBW (Powdered Brewery Wash) is the magic cleaner for brewers, everything on the "cold side" must additionally be sanitized, I like no-rinse 5-Star.

I keep a 5G bucket and a trigge sprayer of 5-star, use liberally!