A Career in Brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jablestein

Reaction score
I'm really not sure if this is the proper forum or not, so please feel free to move it as necessary.

I've been Homebrewing for about two years now and I've recently toyed around with the idea of maybe pursuing a career in beer. I currently have a great job that I'm very fond of, but the stability of my industry is a bit suspect at times and I'm looking for potential back up plans in case something were to ever go wrong. It seems that the brewing industry is getting bigger and bigger every year and it's something that I have a lot of interest in, so I figured I'd look into it.

I'd love to hear from some of the professional brewers or any of you that might have personal information or resources on the topic. Here are some of the specifics I'm most interested in hearing about...

Compensation - Probably my biggest concern since I have a family to support. My assumption is that the pay maybe isn't so great just starting out, but I'd love to be proven wrong here!

Stability - While the industry seems to continue to grow, I can't help but think that we might be close to some sort of craft beer bubble burst with the crazy number of breweries and brewpubs opening every year. Curious what people in the industry think have to say about this.

Education - At this point I'm just working off my casual homebrewing knowledge, which i'm sure is just the tip of the iceberg. I'm curious how important Brewing Education is relating to getting your foot in the door at a brewery. What all should you be expected to know? Should I look into any certification programs or courses? How much of it is just learning on the job?