Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI would not trip with test button
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
cank
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 559
Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default GFCI would not trip with test button

I had a 30 amp Square D homeline GFCI 2-pole breaker in a homemade spa panel. When I went to use it the first time, I pushed the test button and the breaker tried to trip but stopped half way down and started to smoke. After that the test button did not work but the breaker did.
What did I do wrong?
Here is how I wired it.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3825987769.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	119183


cank is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:44 PM   #2
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,021
Liked 180 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Do you have H-H-G coming into the panel, or H-H-N, or H-H-N-G? I cannot really tell from the picture.


jeffmeh is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:02 PM   #3
cank
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 559
Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

H-H-N-G coming in.
cank is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 05:58 PM   #4
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,021
Liked 180 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Do you have the N running into the breaker, and then a N pigtail coming off the breaker that is connected back to the N input somehow? I believe that is how it should work.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/wir...ctures-360313/
jeffmeh is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:24 PM   #5
reynolds5520
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 285
Liked 37 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

It sounds like you have a bad breaker. Clicking to the halfway position is normal when a breaker trips, but it shouldn't have started to smoke. I can't think of anything you could have done wrong to cause that. Unfortunately, there isn't anything you can do to repair a failed breaker.
reynolds5520 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:02 PM   #6
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default

had e same issue except I have a Midwest panel. I called GE and they sent a replacement breaker. I haven't tested it yet though. Hoping it was faulty.
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:54 PM   #7
cank
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 559
Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Yes, neutral in to breaker and the pigtail going to the bus bar connected to neutral from control panel.
Should the breaker continue to work if the GFCI is fried?
cank is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:22 PM   #8
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,021
Liked 180 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Shouldn't the pig tail be connected to neutral bus bar that feeds the spa panel (breaker input), and the neutral coming out of the breaker go to the control panel (breaker output)? I really don't know whether that matters here, but that seems to be consistent with P-J's photo diagram.
jeffmeh is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:08 PM   #9
reynolds5520
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 285
Liked 37 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

The neutral pigtail of the breaker should be connected to the neutral of the incoming power.

The neutral of the outgoing power (if any) connects to the neutral lug on the breaker.


The breaker may still work as a switch and maybe even as an over-current protection, without the GFCI function working. But there is no easy way to test that it is working for over current. It should really be replaced - you let the magic smoke out.
reynolds5520 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 01:58 AM   #10
cank
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 559
Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

So the neutral of the protected circuit goes to GFCI Breaker Neutral-In and the pigtail is connected to Main Power Neutral leading back to main panel?
Is this how the GFCI monitors the power fluctuations?
And I fried it because I was feeding the neutral monitor backwards?😲


cank is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Road Trip = Beer Trip! half_whit General Beer Discussion 4 05-04-2013 02:30 PM
Inline gfci post gfci breaker Squeeky Electric Brewing 2 05-24-2012 08:26 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
Thanks Button ShakerD HomeBrewTalk Announcements & Feedback 8 02-01-2011 07:55 PM
hey mod button z987k HomeBrewTalk Announcements & Feedback 10 06-01-2007 07:53 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS