Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Do I need an air shutter?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 06:18 AM   #1
bighoss
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newcomerstown, Ohio
Posts: 224
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Do I need an air shutter?

So I got an older turkey frying setup from a friend at work. The burner is a bit rusted, and needs some cleaning. He only had the burner, and stand that came in the kit. The pot was junk, and the hose, and regulator are MIA. I've been looking around on the net, and have noticed an air shutter on similar burners. I was wondering if one would be necessary to purchase, or if I could make do without one?


bighoss is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 06:24 AM   #2
JoeBronco
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Bay, NoR-CaL
Posts: 825
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Depends on the burner. I have two at home and the cheap one has a shutter but my nice burner regulates itself.

Only one way to check, fire it up and see the quality of the flame.
__________________
On Deck ______________ Tasty's Brown (Brown with NB)
1st Primary ____________ Sour Pliny
Kegged________________ Sangio.Port Wine
Bottle Ageing __________ Giddy Gremlin, RyIIIPAWhiskey Vanilla Porter (Bottled 4-20)

SILVER - BABO - "Oaked Whiskey Vanilla Porter"
SILVER - Celebrewtion - "Bourbon Vanilla Porter"
GOLD - BABO - "Hoptop"
SILVER - BABO - "Screaming Cream"
Honorable Mention: (x2) Giddy Gremlin RyIIpa (x1) Pliny The Mexican
JoeBronco is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 07:19 AM   #3
bighoss
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newcomerstown, Ohio
Posts: 224
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Ok thanks for the input Joe. I'll have to fire it up as soon as I get my new line, and regulator.
bighoss is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS