Paulaner Oktoberfest...help me figure it out.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hemsworth

Reaction score
In using Beersmith I see that the SRM for the style is 7.0-14.0. The Paulaner that I just drank is MAYBE a 4.0...if not 3.0. Either way, I thoroughly enjoyed it and want to brew a Marzen that is similar and true to the origins of the style. Therefore, no Crystal malts.

BYO's suggested recipe is ridiculously strong in the ABV department...and also too dark for what I want to accomplish.

http://byo.com/component/resource/a...r Styles/1125-marzen-brew-now-for-oktoberfest

So I was hoping that a few of you vets could help me construct a recipe. This is my first time trying to make a recipe from scratch but this is what I've come up with so far:

10 lbs. German pilsner
2 lbs. Vienna
.5 lbs Munich
.25 oz Tettnang 90 min
.5 oz Tettnang 60 min
.75 oz Saaz 30 min
Wyeast 2206

I guess I would follow BYO's interesting little mash schedule that they suggest.

Whatever...like I said I am new to this and thought I would throw something together for you guys to work with. I know the SRM's are still high here for what I want to achieve(5.3 as it is)...but I'm hoping that you guys would have some good suggestions.