clearing the brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

taelmore

Reaction score
I have been brewing for about a year now and I am having trouble getting my beer to clear. I have been making alot of Pale Ale's and some Ambers. When I started brewing it was not an issue because I was so excited to have home brew. That being said I want to get a nice clear beer, To impress not only myself but friends and family. I do use Irish moss in the last 10 minuets of my boil, but am at a loss to any other tricks that might be avalible. Any help would be appreciated.

Search for the use of gelatin in beer, which in addition to cold crashing your beer in secondary will yield a very clear brew. I'm going to be doing it with my dutch lager.

+1 to cold crashing.

I also use Whirfloc (Irish moss in tablet form)

2 tips form my experience:
if you cold crash, make sure you let it warm back up and gently "swish" the liquid in the fermenter before bottling. If the liquid is too cold, not enough yeast transfer and you don't get good results in carbing. (Not a fact, just my experience)
Aging longer in the bottle conditioning phase and also making sure you refrigerate them for at least a week or longer before opening also helps.

As seems to be the best advice for everything in Homebrew, time is your friend, longer primary, longer secondary, longer bottle conditioning, longer in the fridge before drinking.... more time seems to make better beer. Of course, that is always managed against our passion for consuming, so do the best you can.

But please note that I do not bottle, but keg all my beers:

Crash cool my secondary

Boil 1 cup of water in a pyrex container in the microwave

Set heated water aside until it cools to about 160 F