Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > dang i installed the wrong pid again!!! help
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2009, 11:36 AM   #21
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,781
Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickflip_mj View Post
can anyome still help me with the inverter?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawdustguy View Post
All you need is a small 9 Volt DC wall wort supply. I will draw up how you connect it later. You see, the version that is designed for the SSR puts out 10 volts DC to turn on the SSR. On your version of the PID you have a simple relay contact. All you really need to do is provide your own 10 volt DC source (the 9 volt DC walwart, 9 Volts is enough to turn the SSR on) and switch it with the relay contacts on your PID.
It's not an inverter. A inverter make DC into AC. It is a simple Wall Wort DC power supply which is available at Radio Shack for about 7 bucks. Get one that is 9 VDC (Very common Wall Wort voltage). To switch the SSR you need very little current so almost any 9 VDC Wall Wort will work.



__________________
Guy

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 07:55 PM   #22
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,063
Liked 107 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

i have one laying around, can i use anything larger than 9VDC? i have a 13 vdc, would that work?


kickflip_mj is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 11:51 PM   #23
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,063
Liked 107 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

anyone can give me some help?
kickflip_mj is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 12:05 AM   #24
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,307
Liked 68 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 128

Default

Quote:
i have one laying around, can i use anything larger than 9VDC? i have a 13 vdc, would that work?
Yes
As long you don't exceed the SSR control voltage, look at the SSR.
Most SSR's have a 3-30 VDC control voltage range.

Cheers,
ClaudiusB
ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 12:10 AM   #25
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,063
Liked 107 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

thanks once again claudius
kickflip_mj is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 03:09 AM   #26
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,781
Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts

Default

Below is the description for the Auber 25 Amp SSR. Note the input voltage is 4.5 VDC to 32 VDC, so yes a 13 VDC wall wort will work as Claudius B has predicted. BTW, back in post #3, The Pol asked how much current do you really need to switch? Are you aware the relay contacts internal to PID can handle up to 10 Amps at 120 VAC? You may not need a SSR at all.

Description: 25A SSR
Manufacturer: Lide
Manufacture’s Part Number: RS1A40D25
Input Voltage 4.5-32VDC
Output Voltage: 40-400VAC
Current Rating: 25A
Output: Triac
Switch method: zero-cross turn on
Approval :CE
Condition: New
Warranty: 90 days
Specification: http://www.auberins.com/SSR%20Series-RS1A.pdf
__________________
Guy

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:19 AM   #27
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,063
Liked 107 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

sawdustguy,

i need the SSR just because i have a 1500 watt element im running, i think 10 A will run up to a 1200 W element so its kind of a must
kickflip_mj is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:21 AM   #28
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,781
Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts

Default

I wasn't sure exactly how much current you were switching but at 12.5 amps you will meed the SSR.
__________________
Guy
Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:24 PM   #29
keithster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Marcos, California
Posts: 42
Default

Hi guys,

I've been racking my brain trying to figure out which PID I need to get and if it will do what I need. I have two applications.

1) Control a chest freezer to keep it at 40F or so.

2) Control a fan.

I want to buy two PID's and was wondering if this PID would work for the freezer (120v) and a second one would control a fan (12v or 120v)

I would like it to be 100% on until the tempurature is reached and then completely shut off. Will this PID do the job?

New PID SSR TEMPERATURE CONTROLLER FURNACE KILN OVEN - eBay (item 290330469775 end time Jul-13-09 11:05:28 PDT)
keithster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 03:06 AM   #30
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,307
Liked 68 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 128

Default

Quote:
1) Control a chest freezer to keep it at 40F or so.

2) Control a fan.
Are you planning on using the PID's for the same freezer?
If yes, use the Love TSS2 two channel ON/OFF controller.

Long time ago I read TET612 manual and found some limitations for my brewing.
I need to go back and read the manual again.

Cheers,
ClaudiusB


ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blow off tube installed... now what? underwaterdan General Beer Discussion 13 01-12-2009 06:23 PM
Dang it - Bad starter LooyvilleLarry Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 09-05-2008 03:50 PM
New Faucets Installed! Tony Bottling/Kegging 1 01-14-2006 07:10 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS