Cinnamon as an ingredient questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1dude1

Reaction score
I just got done with a keg of my so far favorite beer ever. it took me and my pap about 5 days to go through 5 gal of this whereas 5 gal usually lasts us 2-3 weeks. so it was a house fav. but it was an experimental beer, I am new to brewing, but whenever i'm new to something i try to push it to find my limits, i pushed it and didn't find a limit.

I added at 60min 15 stick of cinnamon, i am a person who keeps tasting the wort as it boils, i never noticed the cinnamon go down in flavor and i thought it would be too much. when the beer was done, it was the most well balanced, flavorful, amber colored beer i had ever had, it was cloudy, but for now i'm working on flavor. my recipea(i do this from memory, every beer i'm craving somehting slightly different so i don't write things down, i just try to figure it out.)

Recipe for a little less than 5 gal
5 lbs amber malt extract
3 lbs rice sugar powder
4 oz mt hood hops
.5-1 cup chocolate chips
5 dried small cloves
lots of cinnamon, my guess is around 15 large sticks of the non saigon cinnamon, the real stuff
about a tablespoon of cayanne pepper
about a tablespoon of mint flakes maybe a little more

in the final product i could hardly taste the cinnamon, like the yeast had eaten it away. i tasted the wort at 30 seconds to done to see if i liked it and thought there was too much cinnamon, it was spicy from too much cinnamon, i thought i had messed up for sure.