Some Beginner Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigtau

Reaction score
First off, let me begin by saying this is a great site. I started brewing a little over a year ago and this site has some great information. You guys do a great job.

Since I still consider myself a beginner, I'm still brewing beer kits with all the ingredients/recipes already assembled. I've brewed a few batches since I first started, and have come up with a couple of questions based on my experiences. I'm trying to get the basics down so I can move on to creating my own recipes and eventually move on to All-Grain brewing.

1. What's the best way to add/pitch the yeast? I have read of several different techniques used to add the yeast to the wort. I've read about 1) Adding yeast to luke warm glass of water, stirring, and letting sit for several minutes before adding to the yeast 2) Boiling water, letting cool to 95degF, adding yeast and sugar (to ensure it is alive) and then adding to wort and 3) simply sprinkling the yeast on top of the wort. What's the best way? Do you need to "prepare" the yeast before adding?

2. Primary vs. Secondary? I've already found plenty of info on this site that helped out with this question. Thanks