Mash pH too low?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carp

Reaction score
I've been experimenting with water adjustment, and for the last 3 brews have been getting pH of about 4.8, at mash temp. I'm brewing IPAs with SRM according to BTP of around 13, using 2-row, and various amounts of rye, MO, vienna, and Crysal 60.
Following are my water parameters:
Initial Adjusted
(Ca ppm) 3 190
(Mg ppm) 4 15
(Na ppm) 6 47
(Cl ppm) 0 109
(SO4 ppm) 7 135
(CaCO3 ppm) 221
RA 77
Cl/SO4 ratio 0.81

Does the low pH reading make sense? Is it okay or should I try to bring it up? If so, how - by adding chalk and/or baking soda to bring it up?

thanks

I'm a newb at this myself but from what I can see your water is good for that SRM without adjustment. It may depend on how you adjusted your water to get those final numbers. Did you add things like calcium carbonate/chalk or baking soda that raises RA? or did you add things like gypsum, calcium chloride, or epsom salts that lower it? If you only added things that lower your RA it may explain the low PH.

To answer your question though 4.8 PH should still work, but alpha amylase won't like it that much, beta amylase should be happy though. It may mean that your conversions take a little longer. Low PH my affect the mouthfeel in the finished product as well.

Adding things that raise your alkalinity like the chalk and baking soda you mentioned will help drive the PH up to the desired range.

According to my ph strips (who knows how accurate) my mashes never exceed 4.8, even with water additions, and my beers come out good, as a matter of fact very good.:)