nOOb question....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dude

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Okay...I've brewed about 20 batches so far so I have SOME experience, but the latest has me thinking a bit more than it should be. I'm turning to you guys for some assistance.

I recently brewed a dry stout, and I racked it right on top of a yeast cake that I had a sweet stout in. That sucker started bubbling like a bee-yotch 1 hour after I racked it on the yeast cake. It bubble dfor exactly 12 hours and not another peep out of it since.
The SG was only 1.045 so I know it won't take long for the yeasties to devour this one. But 12 hours? My hydrometer broke this week so I can't take a reading.
What do you guys think? Wait to rack to secondary until I know for sure its not stuck?

12 hours? Can pitching on top of a yeast cake only mean 12 hours for full fermentation? 12 damn hours? Wow......

Don't know, man. I might try tempting the little beasts with a small dose of brown sugar just to see if that wakes anybody up. I'd also have to replace the hydrometer. Without it, my curiosity would kill me.

ORRELSE said:
What do you guys think? Wait to rack to secondary until I know for sure its not stuck?

12 hours? Can pitching on top of a yeast cake only mean 12 hours for full fermentation? 12 damn hours? Wow......

When you pitch on top of a yeast cake you have an enormous amount of yeast available to "Party On" . I am guessing your done. You need another hydrometer Man....then we would know for sure.

Sudster said:
When you pitch on top of a yeast cake you have an enormous amount of yeast available to "Party On" . I am guessing your done. You need another hydrometer Man....then we would know for sure.