OKtoberfest help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ColoradoHomebrew

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about 6 months and made an Oktoberfest (with German ale yeast) that may have gone wrong. I used the Brewing Classic Styles recipie and looking back it looks strange. The all grain doesn't look like the extract recipie. After 2 weeks in the bottle, I tasked and I find a cardboard like aftertaste that is really anoying. Here is the recipie.

10gollon batch

8.75 Pilsner
6.75 Munich I
4.75 Vienna
1.25 Caramunich I

.75 Hallertau @60
.75 Northern Brewer @60
1 Hallertau @ 20

SIngle infusion @ 151 (Oddly enough my strike did hit 160, but I I added cold water to get it to 151, this was my first 10 gallon batch in my set up)

I fermented at 61-64F in an ice bath over a week then transfered to secondary for 2 weeks, then botted for 2 weeks.

Normally I would wait to taste, but looking back at the book, the Extract version 4.4 pils LME 4.4 Munich LME and 1.0 Caramunich steeped has no vienna. This seems odd as does such a small portion of base malt in the all grain.

The recipe looks fine to me. A cardboard taste is usually associated with mishandling of the product at some point after fermentation, such as the introduction of oxygen at bottling. You may also be tasting the combination of Pilsner and Munich malt. And lastly, sparging to much or to hot will lead to tannin extraction that could cause a paper/cardboard mouthfeel and flavor. I would try and let the beer age a while longer before passing final judgement on it. A few weeks cold conditioning would also benefit the beer.