Pitching washed yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

palongee1

Reaction score
:mug: newbie here. Ive been learning lots from the members on this board:tank: Been brewing all grain with a buddy for the last year or so and would like to start reusing the yeast. We currently make our starters based on Mr malty's pitch rate calculator. What im trying to figure out is when reusing the yeast to make a starter how do you have any idea what the cell count your pitching is gonna be? Generally, using the calculator we pitch 1 smack pack with say 1000ml of wort. I know they say there are X amount of cells in the smack pack and what the recomended pitch rate should be for a specific gravity of wort, but how can you figure out how many cells are in the salvaged yeast? Ive done alot of reading regarding overpitching and underpitching effects to the beer, using the smack pack you get an idea of what you got to work with. Is there a way to measure or get a idea of where youre at or is everyone just winging it?..thanks in advance for your input! Mike

Thanks for the replies, so if each one of those jars is equal to 2-3 smack packs are you guys pitching the entire jar to your fermenter or the entire jar to a starter or a partial jar.... According to Ole Mr malty, 3 smack packs is what would be ideal for for my 10.78 ipa or 1 pack with a 1.6 liter starter on the stir plate. So im curious what people are doing to ensure they are pitching at least close to the right amount of yeast..not too much, not too little? Maybe im overthinking this..ive been known to do that...:fro:..thanks again!
Mike