Slow start, quick ferment, now what?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THRobinson

Reaction score
Newbie here... seen a few posts about this but didn't see the answer I was after...

I did a batch, pitched the yeast and 0 activity for 36h. Then bubbled like crazy for about 36h, then nothing. Shook the bucket around to aerate a bit, maybe stir things up a bit, waited a day and if there are still bubbles, they're few/far apart and I'm not seeing it.

Basically, question is... if the OG was 1.064, if I do a reading now... what roughly should I expect to see to know if I should either

a) syphon to the secondary
b) something wrong and I should looking at more yeast or doing something else

... side question, if the yeast is fine, anyone have a good link to a how-to for gathering/saving the yeast for future batches? or is that a bad idea?

Thanks

Oh, batch was the below using the liquid extract, and yeast fuel.

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/product_info.php?cPath=178_452_43_250&products_id=1113

Don't shake or aerate the beer! Once fermentation has begun you want to do everything "quietly" and without any splashing.