Stainless Steel MLT

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vsiddhartha

Reaction score
I've been brewing AG now for 5 years using a Coleman Xtreme cooler with a bazooka screen as my MLT. I would like to switch to a stainless steel MLT. What are my options? I typically brew 5 to 10 gallon batches, single infusion, batch sparge, with the occasional decoction.

I was thinking about using a Sanke keg, but have 4 concerns: inconvenient dimensions (tall and narrow), lots of deadspace, volume-limited (some bigger 10-gal batch mashes may not fit), no insulation.

Note: This is cross-posted on NB...thought I would tap the experts here as well. Thanks.

I was thinking about using a Sanke keg, but have 4 concerns: inconvenient dimensions (tall and narrow), lots of deadspace, volume-limited (some bigger 10-gal batch mashes may not fit), no insulation.

Are you talking about a sanke (commercial beer keg) or a corny (homebrew keg)?

Sanke. 15.5-gallon commercial beer keg with the top cut out. I currently use them for my HLT and kettle.

Ok. I got confused by your "tall and narrow" comment. I would not describe a 15.5 gallon sanke as "tall and narrow". In fact, it's pretty similar to the round 10 gallon cooler I have been using for several years, except that it's wider on the inside than the cooler is.

Deadspace can be handled with a proper dip-tube in the thing, but I do have a false bottom in my current MLT and I plan to just move that into the sanke. There will not be a lot of space under it that I can't suck out through the diptube and ball valve.