Yeast starter question.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joeneugs

Reaction score
Total newb question coming here.. I'm brewing my first beer, and I decided to do a one liter yeast starter using 2/3 cup of liquid amber malt extract and wyeast 1388. I made the starter about 24 hours ago and all activity seems to be over. No more foam on top and a nice yeast layer on the bottom. My question is, should I step it up to 2 liters before I brew, and if so, when I add more wort, do I shake the jug to reaerate? I'm doing a pretty high gravity abbey dubbel. Thanks in advance for any help!

Check out mrmalty.com. It all depends on the gravity of the beer your brewing. That site will give you a good starting point, and great instructions for yeast starters.

If you step it up, you should definitely re-aerate. In fact, you should be aerating as much as possible, ideally continuously via a stir bar and loose-fitting cover on the jug. Excess oxygen in a starter gets you more, healthier yeast.

I would just go as is, that type of yeast can be a quick starter, and if you just did the starter a couple of days ago from a large wyeast package you should be good to go. I should rip through most belgian worts in no time flat.

Total newb question coming here.. I'm brewing my first beer, and I decided to do a one liter yeast starter using 2/3 cup of liquid amber malt extract and wyeast 1388. I made the starter about 24 hours ago and all activity seems to be over. No more foam on top and a nice yeast layer on the bottom. My question is, should I step it up to 2 liters before I brew, and if so, when I add more wort, do I shake the jug to reaerate? I'm doing a pretty high gravity abbey dubbel. Thanks in advance for any help!