what is your method of temp control

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ColonelForbin

Reaction score
during fermentation. im pretty new to home brewing and know that controlling your temp during fermentation is very important. my question is what is your method for temp control and how much money am i going to have to spend to achieve temp control.

Put your fermenter in a plastic tub of some sort, fill it halfway with water, put a t-shirt over the fermenter and allow the water to wick up into the shirt. Switch out one or two 1- or 2-liter bottles of frozen water as often as necessary, once or twice a day. Set up a fan to blow on the fermenter to more quickly evaporate the water, if you need to.

i have had a belgian ale in secondary for about two months now. should i go ahead and start doing this or just wait and try it on my next beer? also could this method cause the beer to get to cold or fluctuate temperature too much?

Mine is pretty much the same as Rick's, no problem keeping the fermenter in the low 60s even during hot weather.

I don't do it after the beer is racked to secondary - it's the first week that's the most important. Once I rack to secondary I don't worry much about temp control, I usually start a new batch and put it in the swamp cooler.

I would assume after 2 months you're probably fine.

One of the purposes of the water in the tub is that it'll take a lot more time for a large amount of water to change temperature than the air. Also the evaporation from the top with the wet t-shirt will keep it a little cool. you can just fill up the tub a little more and forgo the t-shirt to get an even more stable temp. Albeit a warmer one.