Craft Beer and weight gain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

20000Barrels

Reaction score
So I have been pounding the craft beer hard for the last 3 months as I have started my home brewing. I have tasted as many craft beers as I can find. Looking for the type of beer that I want to brew all the time.

Anyways I have gained about 12 lbs in 3 months. I really love 22 ounce bombers.

Anyone know what a avg craft beer calorie count is?

Depends on the beer. Anywhere from 150 cal - 600 cal per 12 oz.

Heh Heh Heh Heh Heh

Between my quitting smoking and newfound love of craft beer about four years ago I gained 40 lbs.:drunk:
I've worked hard to loose about 20 pounds since but it is an ongoing struggle:D

Between not working out, getting married, devouring wings and beer weekly, home brewing, kicking BMC's, Ive got a solid 50 in a year and half. Now I'm dieting, running, and back to lifting weights, we shall see.

The caloric content of beer depends on the abv and residual sugar. Most session level beers are around 150-200 but craft beers tend to push the limit and can be over 1000 per pint for high alcohol beer.

Drinking a lot is definitely the fast track to weight gain

I feel your pain. I've come to the conclusion that counting my beer calories ruins my beer enjoyment so I just don't count them any longer :) I just eat less.....

I've tried to run and exercise more since I began drinking more craft beers. Thus far its worked pretty well.

you can figure a 5.5% micro has about 200 cals, 7.5% is going to be around ~250 and just keeps going up until you have a 500 calorie 13% beer with a lot of residual sugar

I've tried to run and exercise more since I began drinking more craft beers. Thus far its worked pretty well.