Keg as fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaveGerard

Reaction score
I can't seem to get the search function to work, so sorry if this has been asked and answered before. I am just starting out with home brewing (minus some Mr. Beer experience which I don't really count), so I have a starter set on the way, but I am sure that I am going to want to graduate to higher volume runs. I have a buddy that owns a bar so I have easy and cheap access to kegs. I've seen the posts on using a keg as a boiler, I can definitely make that work (I love doing DIY projects anyhow), but is there a way to make a keg into a fermenter? I have an angle grinder, step drills, and arc welder, you name it, but obviously the easier the better, because with a wife, 2 dogs, and a 1.5 year old daughter, my time for projects is severely limited.
Thanks

anything that isn't air permeable and can be sanitized can be used as a fermenter :)

what you might wanna do is look for DIY on making a conical fermenter out of a keg, so you can take advantage of dumping the yeast from the bottom and just skipping having to rack to secondary.

Ha ha, hate away. I'm gonna read that conical thread, that a lot of pages, but I was just thinking that I can essentially make another keggle, and then rack to my 5 gal bottling bucket, 3 times. Would I be alright if I just gasketed the "lid" of the keg and strapped it down with a bungee cord? I'd obviously run an airlock or penny bubbler thru a stopper and jam that in the tap hole.

I modified a 15.5 gallon sankey into a fermentor. Not cronical, but a good fermentor none the less. works well with 10-12 gallon batches. I havent yet, but I could lager with it in a chest freezer...