Does this SCOBY look okay?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agrichemist

Reaction score
I've been growing thia scoby for a few months, I split it into 2 about a month ago. I checked on them today, and my larger one has some odd looking pattern on the top. I think it looks like a biofilm, but I just want to make sure that the biofilm isn't being caused by some other bacteria trying to take over my scoby. Before I noticed it, I took a sip and it tasted okay, just like it needs more time to ferment. Thoughts?

IMG_20160429_090620.jpg

IMG_20160429_090635.jpg

A scoby IS a biofilm. Additionally, microbes don't "take over" a scoby, they "take over" the source of food (i.e. sweet tea in this case). Your kombucha will be full of varying bacteria and yeast that all aim to "own" the food source and outcompete the other microbes; that's how they survive. Depending on the microbe in question, the food source may be depleted quickly or not so quickly (some microbes can act on food sources that others cannot). Additionally, as the acidity in the solution grows the harder it becomes for the microbes to keep living.

All of this is to say, as long as you're not seeing mold/fuzzy/furry/fluffy stuff growing and your fermenter is open to the environment (but covered with breathable material) then you should be safe to drink. You will want to replenish the food source more frequently than "months" though to keep a nice balance of microbes at work in there.

Awesome, thank you. I was thinking other bacteria might be able to form a second biofilm over the original one and "steal" the yeast. Happy to hear that is not the case.