Wyeast 1968, chunky cheese!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattHollingsworth

Reaction score
I've heard the stories over and over about how Wyeast 1968 floccs like crazy and takes on the consistency of cheese. This is my first time using it, though. Getting ready to brew a Dark Mild on Sunday, so naturally have a starter going. During the active part of the fermentation of the starter, the starter looked like it usually does. But now that it's done, it looks entirely different. Went to check on the starter, which is still on the stirplate, and it looked like I had dumped a bunch of cottage cheese into there. Interesting.

DSC06052.jpg

Look forward to this brew. Curious about this yeast.

California Ale yeast does the same thing. I had to scoop some of the chunks off the top just to get a hydrometer sample. It makes for a very clean beer tho. The resulting beer looked like I had cold-crashed it or lagered, but it was just a regular ale.

I started to use 1968 because I liked the year - then I realized it was Fuller's yeast and I started to work it into all my bitters. It has never let me down from temps 60-74.. and I know 74 is pushing it but it was before I was enlightened re. swamp coolers and even the 74 had very low butters. You're going to love the yeast and it won't be the last time you use it.

:mug:

I just used Wyeast 1968 in an ESB, and just transferred it over to secondary. After 19 days in the primary I am very pleased with how clear the beer already looks. I doubt I'll leave it in secondary very long, but I can't wait to try out this beer in a few weeks. :mug:

And, yes, the bottom of the primary was very chunky. It really reminded me of when I used the Irish Ale yeast, too.