Ginger Cream Braggot

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coprinus

Reaction score
I've been working on an alcoholic ginger beer for about a year now, and I've decided to try the next batch as a honey beer, with lactose to fill out the body and add some sweetness.
I've worked with both ginger and honey before, and I know the quirks of those ingredients, but I've never used lactose before, and I've only tasted it as a part of a stout.
Anybody have any thoughts? I'm going to be brewing in 5 days.
Also, anybody know where to get fresh exotic ginger like Jamaican or Chinese "white" ginger?
Here's the recipe so far:

Ginger Cream Braggot

For 5 Gallons:

1# 80L Crystal Malt
4# Honey
3# Pilsen Light Dry Extract
1# Lactose

1oz Fuggles hops

2# Ginger
“Bitter” Orange Peel
1 tsp Cinnamon

Safbrew Ale Yeast

Hang the crystal malt in the pot while the water heats up, let it hang out at 130º and again at 160º for about 20 minutes each. Drain the grain bag and bring the wort to a boil.
Chop up one pound of the ginger (food processor) and add it to the water – boil for about 10 minutes.
Add the extract, lactose, and 1/2 of the hops to the boil. Boil for 50 minutes.
Add the honey, the rest of the hops, the other pound of ginger, orange peel and cinnamon. Boil for 10 minutes.

Primary for at least two weeks, then secondary for at least a month so that the honey has time to ferment. Taste when a week is left and consider “dry hopping” with more ginger or orange peel.

Thanks. It seems like most of the ginger in the stores is from china anyway. My asian market's ginger was all dried up and had some mold on it, so I'm just going to go to Whole Foods and buy whatever they have.