Quickest / easiest Welch's GJ question(s). (And hello!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BasicallyASaint

Reaction score
Hello! First post!

I recently realized how (potentially) easy it is to make your very own alcoholic beverage and I figured that I would want to start off with the VERY easiest and most basic form of this.

So I assumed that this, a super simple Welch's wine, would be the right thing to start with.

Simply put: I don’t really care about taste or quality (Outside of alcohol content that is, I'll worry about that other stuff if I can actually make something that can get the job done and is halfway drinkable :p) and was wondering if anyone could tell me a recipe that would meet these requirements.

I'm a total amateur at this. I realize that I would need some grape juice and yeast to start the fermentation process, as well as two container units to transfer the liquid to and fro (To remove the old yeast, right?) but that’s about it.

How important are extra additives like "acid blend" and "pectic enzyme" in the process? (Found in the recipe section.) Do these things contribute to the alcohol content in anyway, or are they more for looks / taste and what-not?

I would be making this/these (More if it works!) drinks in 2 liter plastic containers. (Coke bottles, for example) How much yeast would you recommend considering the 2 liter is nearly full?

One more question: As for yeast, would any old yeast work? Would a specific type be best? (Within reason that is.)

Thanks for your time. Love the entire concept of this site, very cool.

Cheers.