Have never brewed APA....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Warwick316

Reaction score
I Have been brewing for about seven years now and AG for three of those years, and never made a APA? I usually make oatmeal stouts, Ipa, Belgian style ales and English style ales. Is that normal? Do most homebrewers start out making APA's? I mean it's homebrew, so I brew beer that I like to drink. I'm just wondering what everybody else does when they journey into AG?

That's part of the appeal of brewing, I guess- brewing what you like!

I brew mostly IPAs and APAs with a few other styles tossed in. But I bet 3/4 of my batches are APAs or IPAs.

I really enjoyed the act of making beer as much as i like drinking it(i'm sure most do too) so i made a hand full of extract brews and went strait into all grain. I think just for the challenge of making my own equipment.

When i first started to brew beer I really only liked ambers, but 90% of the beer I drank was bud/coors, i just hadn't developed a taste for micro brews. As i started to get into brewing I stated to try a wide variety of beers that I didn't even know existed. Two years ago I had no idea what a IPA was. I started going into liquor stores with a whole new look. Today IPA and APA are 90% of what i drink and brew.

I guess, I feel like its kind of a waste to brew a APA. Every time I brew I wanna brew something interesting and APA seems kinda boring...

I hope I'm not being closed minded.

No, of course not. It's just that an APA has endless permutations. Almost ANY kind of base grain, and any kind of specialty grains, along with hundreds of hop combinations mean that there is endless variety. I find stouts to be far more boring! :D