Left Hand Brewing, Deep Cover Brown Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bferullo

Reaction score
I am attempting to do somthing similar to this beer. According to their site the information is as follows:

ABV 4.4%
IBU 16
plato: 11.5
malts: pale 2-row, crsytal, munich, brown, chocolate, wheat
hops: kent goldings

I am not looking to clone it persay, but design something similar. I really liked this beer when i got in a beer of the month club and can't get it in Maryland.

Here's what I came up with in BeerSmith. Its the speciality grain part of the bill that I am confused about. it will only be my 3rd AG so I am still learning how to combine grains in the right amounts.

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Ol' Lefty's
Brewer:
Asst Brewer:
Style: American Brown Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Boil Size: 6.57 gal
Estimated OG: 1.045 SG
Estimated Color: 20.2 SRM
Estimated IBU: 21.1 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
6.50 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 69.89 %
1.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 16.13%
0.45 lb Brown Malt (65.0 SRM) Grain 4.84 %
0.40 lb Munich Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM) Grain 4.30 %
0.30 lb Chocolate Malt (350.0 SRM) Grain 3.23 %
0.15 lb White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) Grain 1.61 %
1.00 oz Goldings, USA Kent [4.50 %] (60 min) Hops 15.5IBU
1.00 oz Goldings, USA Kent [4.50 %] (10 min) Hops 5.6IBU
5.50 gal Baltimore, MD Water
wyest 1056 American Ale Yeast

My mash will be single infusion at probably 152 degrees for 60 minutes.
My primary fermentation temp will be about 68 degrees.