Chinook combos

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darknova306

Reaction score
So I'm new to Chinook hops and was wondering: what combinations with Chinook are people fans of (in an IIPA, for argument sake)?

I like chinook all alone (like in Arrogant Bastard) or in combination with other hops. I often use it for bittering in American IPAs, but have used it also for flavoring in some. It's a good dryhop in combination with a citrusy hop variety, too. It can come off as harsh, so it's not used as often for flavor and aroma as a different variety like cascades or centennial.

I just made an APA with chinook for FWH, 15, 1 and i'm planing on dryhoping with .5 oz of chinook and cascade. IBU ended up right around 50. the first hydro sample taste freaking good. It is the first time i used them, i got a pound sitting in the freezer.

alot of ipas, iipas bitter with them and then use them in the dry hop but use other hops for the late kettle additions. For example, Blind Pig, I believe ranger from NB does this and tons of others.

I'm curious about this too. I'm toying with a Amarillo-Simcoe-Chinook IPA for my next batch. I haven't used Chinook before and the harshness comments make me tentative about the hop schedule.

I agree with Yopper, I have done a ton of Ipa's lately, I use them to bitter, and then combo them with cent, and cascade. If you dry hop with them and cas, they seem to come across with a citrus taste, which I love....great hop in my mind

Chinook's on my list for the near future - summer will demand hop forward pale beers. But I've heard they're harsh for bittering due to high cohumulone. Has that been anybody's experience?